January 27, 2006

  • BULGARIA

    Right, so here I am in Bulgaria. I need to buy a SD card reader so I can upload some photos. But things are going great here. I have just been approving concept art right now to develop the city. It's an interesting process. We generated a map of the Gene Generation City as shown below.

    As you can see, we have divided the city into very little sectors with placements of the actual locations of the movie. What I am approving right now is each sector until it is all complete, then we can build a pre-rendered city to move the camera anywhere.

    Step two is deciding the time line, where the sun will be in relative to the movie. Which means that if Michelle is in the alley and it is supposed to be day, our alley has to be facing the appropiate direction so the shadows fall right. Of course, this changes the 'view' of the city, but it's these little things that make the difference of suspension of time and belief than just trying to throw in the coolest things.

    More on that process when I have things to post. As said before, I will only post things that we will see on the first 10 mins of the movie. For the most part, many of the concept especially the end shot will be kept in strict confidence right now. Sorry, no spoilers....if you want a spoiler, click here

    So! Not much time for a normal life yet. I've barely had time to even walk around to buy my shampoo, toothbrush .etc. BUT...I learned something new about me today. Those who know me, know that I am a Diet Coke FREAK! Yeah, 2 litres of that junk a day (at least I don't drink coffee). In Bulgaria, Diet coke is known as Coca Cola Light.... but there is just something different about it. Can't place my finger on it...

    Hence, I've come to 2 conclusions:

    1. I like the name Diet Coke because it makes me feel insane...I'm skinny but I'm drinking Diet Coke. Hence, when it becomes Coca-Coca Light, the novelty is gone...*groan*....

    2. I like the taste of artificial sugar. Splenda rocks, I could dunk a whole packet into my mouth! It's like eating a bouillon cube while watching a movie...yummy. Maybe they used another kind of artificial sweetener...it better not be healthy otherwise I'll get sick

    So that's it for now. More to come, Square Toilet Bowls and Abandoned Children's Playground

Comments (2)

  • hehe you're in Europe sort of..living the Bulgarian life..

    Maybe you should make the Gene Generation into a sci-fi book. It seems so like
    a complex and detailed world already.

  • That'll be nice. When the right producer comes up with an interesting project, I'll take. And it's all about going for the length and beyond. whatever people want you to do has to be less than what you need to do for yourself.

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment

Recent Posts

Categories