February 1, 2006

  • OFFICIAL START OF 3D TEAM

    Here are some pictures of the meeting with the VFX 3D team. These are the main people who will be building the assets of city. Each one of them is assigned a number of buildings to develop for the city and they spend days churning out the wireframe models for the city. The basis is that once the wireframes are built, I get to adjust where the buildings will be placed .etc. then we can start framing our green screen shots and others before the rendering and texturing begin. Then the 2D department will come down for the remaining process of compositing and gamma correction .etc.

    This is the team, in the meeting headed by our VFX Supervisor, Simeon Asenov who has been working with WWFX for about 5 years now. He's basically handling the organization of the VFX Project while at the same time working closely with me regarding my vision. The guy in the blue shirt is basically my QC (quality control). He would be integral in making sure that everything is done the way I want it and that nothing goes out and is approved without his eye. Everything has to be done this way and that way, and he helps me with some of my stuff as well. But he is there for basically everything I discuss with the team, and he will make sure the appropiate notes are taken and instructions carried out.

    Long haired guy is Simeon Asenov who is the VFX Supervisor. Can you tell he is a metal head? Heck yeah! Although, he did let me hear Bulgarian Rap...which...I will not comment about it. But Simeon will basically handle everything from the organization, time line, break down, you name it, he'll be on it. The guy watches more movies than me. Everyday, he would be watching one film. Before I came, he watched all the movies that The Gene Generation was inspired from and was basically in the right frame of mind when I arrived. I think the only thing he does more than watching movies, is working and drinking coffee (the guy can drink)

    The guy standing by the door, is our VFX Producer Scott Coulter. He's the main guy who will handle the job as a producer but on the VFX department side. Yes, he gets the budget, negotiates and when there's trouble, he's on it (Which means delegating task and manpower around to get the job done on time, on target). He makes sure every department is keeping ahead of schedule together with Simeon and monitors the entire process of the film. He mainly has to think ahead and identify problems before they come, while the rest of the team is just basically absorbing ourselves into the cities of Demeter and Olympia.

    Of course, Scott has to juggle between another 2 films as well, so he's always running around, people coming in and out of the office, meetings regarding future movies as well.

    Guy on right photo with short hair, nearest to the Camera is Ven. He's the lead designer of Gene Generation. He looks nice from the outside, polite in character, well groomed guy....but man, his head is messed up! And I say that as a compliment. Ven designs all my 'Hero' shots and has more gross pictures than rotten.com. He did the entire city drawing / painting on his own and the Aereann Flyer design. Right now, he's working on a little design for the Transcoder, as we pay homage to one of the greatest Anime of all time, AKIRA!

    So those 3 are my main guys, I'll keep you updated with their work as we go along. It's going to be a fun ride.

Comments (2)

  • Wow looks very professional. I guess you get more bang for your buck in Bulgaria. I wonder what the hourly wage is there?

  • dude this is soo cool

    everything im learning about in VFX school, its like you are right in the middle of it...im sure it will go great!  good luck with VFX!!

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment

Recent Posts

Categories