October 24, 2005

  • DISPELLING THE MYTH OF BAI LING


    Whenever I get asked questions on The Gene Generation, somehow the question about working with Bai Ling always comes around. It's something I've grown used to, especially with her controversial publicity that has surrounded her, but I thought I could answer a couple of questions.



    First of all, I don't claim to know Bai Ling personally, except through various conversations on set, so I won't claim to judge Bai Ling as a person. But from what I know, she is probably one of the nicest people I've come to work with and a professional who have helped shaped the image of The Gene Generation.


    I notice that a lot of people have commented about Bai Ling, but the important thing to note about these comments is not one person has said anything about her work or art. As someone who has worked with her, there is really no one who would be more dedicated in her role and push the envelope of artistry than Bai Ling. With that, I don't think I could go back and cast another actress for the role of Michelle, even if I wanted to.


    You seldom meet actors who are extremely detailed oriented. You will catch Bai Ling scrutinizing every detail of her character down to the make up and costume. She's also one of the rare actresses who will fight to work more and do one more take. Most actors just hope that the director will yell 'Cut and move on', but not Bai Ling. I don't think she was ever satisfied and that kind of perserverance has pushed this girl from a small province in China into a class A Hollywood actress.


    When asked about her Playboy spread, I can only say one thing. Why would you judge a person by the way the media portrays him or her? You obviously don't watch a movie like 'The Crow' and start being disgusted with Bai Ling because she 'likes pretty eyes'. No, you disassociate the fact that Myca and Bai Ling are 2 seperate entities. I urge everybody before they even open their mouths to seperate Bai Ling as a media persona and Bai Ling as a person. Let her entertain you, let her make you cry, smile, because that's what she is...an entertainer.


Comments (2)

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Recent Posts

Categories