September 17, 2005

  • ASIAN AMERICAN FILMMAKERS

    Lately, I've been keeping an eye on Asian American Filmmakers. Being Asian, I would love to learn a little bit more about the people who are in America and doing the same thing I am doing. Question I always wondered is "Am I considered an Asian American?"

    Ok, I have a PR here, but I wasn't born here. I certainly wasn't exposed to the culture where Asians are a minority (being born in Asia) until I was 14 when I went to Melbourne Australia to study. But I'm asian, and I'm in America. Does that make me an Asian American? Hard to say, the topics that many Asian Americans dive into are of course the limitations of one being born in a society where one is treated like a minority. I could never make films like that although I LOVE THOSE FILMS, because I don't have such a long history like these filmmakers have.

    I think it's safe to say that filmmakers should make movies about subjects that they understand or experienced. Looking back at my experiences, I really have none. Other than the fact that I day dream a lot, that's about it. I guess I use that in my films, so I have at least something.

    But maybe another look at it is I have the experience of one who imagines what it must be like being somebody else. That seems to be an occuring theme in most of my movies as well. Ha! That's funny. But who knows, maybe I will get to meet some Asian American friends along the way of my career. I talk to some, met briefly, but nobody I have hung out with. Yup, in short, I didn't make a single Asian friend in the 5 years I have been in the US. Weird? I don't know. I'm just not the sort that seek things out, I'll rather let it come naturally, and hopefully with inspiration. I prefer the company of muses than friends, maybe that's why.

    I think this blog has something to do with the movie I'm watching now. Oh well, can't have EVERY entry be about The Gene Generation can't it!

Comments (4)

  • What movie are you watching?  Is it BLT?

  • You can't have no experiences. A lot of the stuff you've written even in this post sounds like it could be made into a good story. But then again, I know absolutely nothing about film making.

    To above: Dark Planet: Visions of America. XD

  • Ahh yes, the age old question...what IS Asian American? Much better debated in person than on xanga. If you're based out of Hollywood, maybe we can get together sometime for coffee and ponder this universal issue.

  • Hey Pearry,

    I graduated from Boston U in film production in May, and I just moved out to LA.

    Came across your Xanga, and I think it's very philanthropic of you to share your experiences working on a feature with such names as Bai Ling and Faye Dunaway (how did the producers get Bonnie Parker get signed on? hehe). The fact that your DP gaffed X2 also caught my eye. I'm not sure why more asian filmmakers aren't already pouncing on this site. Cheers.

    Ben

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment

Recent Posts

Categories